Skip to content

Fun at the Park

September 3, 2011

  As I mentioned in my last post, yesterday we went to the park with the homeschool families from our church. We were there from 1:00 P.M. to 4:30, and everyone had fun. The moms sat in a shady gazebo and chatted while our kids played on the blazing-hot playground. Later, we fed the ducks. One large goose came up onto the sand. He was being very insistent about the fact that he wanted his food, and he wanted it right that second! He continued to waddle around, collecting pieces of bread from the children, not a few of whom were frightened. Micah, for one, was terrified by this huge, honking bird that was almost taller than him. He ran straight to Lindsay and hid behind her, clutching her skirt.

  Micah is usually very independent; he likes to play by himself instead of with his older siblings. The one person he loves to do anything with is Lindsay. Lately those two have really clicked. Lindsay loves all her brothers and sisters, but these days, anywhere you look, you’ll see her and Micah together. It’s sweet, but Micah is beginning to resist whenever I tell him to do anything [it’s time for a bath, let Thomas have the car]. We are working on this and starting to make a little progress…guess I’m just not as fun as Lindsay 😉

 

  My parents are going to drive from MS tomorrow to come see us; they’ll be here until next Thursday morning. I’ve already been to the store this morning to buy groceries, and I’ve been cleaning everything in sight. Right now, 7 out of 12 children are doing chores. We still have a large list to knock out, but judging by how diligently the kids are working, I think we can get it done it a couple of hours or so. [Have I mentioned how much I love my kids?!] Anyway, we’re all really looking forward to seeing my parents.

 

  I meant to do a slightly longer post, but I need to get back upstairs and make sure no one has stolen any of the cookies sitting on cooling racks. Hope everyone is enjoying the blog’s new design; I’ll post again soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn permalink
    September 3, 2011 5:01 PM

    Hi Nicole!
    Wow, your blog does look very different! I love it, though! I just read your latest posts to H, J & E; we all enjoyed them. E says to tell Lauren that she had fun feeding the ducks with her!!
    We, also, are looking forward to seeing Mom & Dad. Did we decide that we’d come over Monday, we’d all go somewhere Tuesday, and ya’ll would come over Wednesday? Had a great time yesterday; see you tomorrow!
    Kathryn

    • September 3, 2011 5:06 PM

      Kathryn,
      If you all would like to come over around lunchtime on Monday, that would work well. And the Tuesday and Wednesday plans sound good. We can discuss details tomorrow or Monday 🙂
      Nicole

  2. Kathryn permalink
    September 3, 2011 5:03 PM

    Forget to say–tell Lindsay how much I love the picture at the top! Also, I love the Search box where you can search any word and it shows you all the posts that word is in!

  3. September 3, 2011 5:09 PM

    The park sounds like a blast. Glad you all had fun.
    One day I’ll tell the story [blog or scary group] of when my sister and I taught my cousin [way back when he was little] how to climb stairs…. 😉

    • September 4, 2011 7:20 PM

      Looking forward to the story. I’ve been reading your blog too… I would comment on it but can’t get into my blogspot account. 🙂

  4. Jen permalink
    September 3, 2011 6:56 PM

    Sounds like a fun day at the park; have a fun time with your parents.

Leave a note for Nicole to see!

